Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Garage door opener on my Road King

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    3,140

    Default Garage door opener on my Road King

    Well, in stead of being bitter about the weather being too cold to ride on one of the few days when my wife and kids are out of town (I'm meeting them in Florida tomorrow), I decided to finally get my garage door opener mod working after a couple of attempts on my Road King.

    Cross posting from HDForums: http://www.hdforums.com/forum/touring-models/750448-garage-door-opener-good-location-for-a-road-king.html

    I
    suppose I *could* ride in 43 degrees, but I got spoiled the last couple of weeks, I'm just not up for all the gear, etc. right now.
    _________
    Roll away the dew...


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brownstown, MI
    Posts
    16,620

    Default

    I've done similar a few times but now I just keep the clicker in my pocket.
    ^^My $0.02 not yours^^
    -Chris
    aka Gas Man

    "Why pay somebody else to fuck up your bike?"
    "Custom don't bolt on!"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fenwick
    Posts
    808

    Default

    I got one from HD for fathers day last year. Just installed it... easiest 15 min mod I've ever done, now with the flash of my headlight coming down the road from about 150 ft, I don't even have to slow down to wait for the door... I'd prolly never buy one myself, but since it was bought for me, wth...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brownstown, MI
    Posts
    16,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chaingunner View Post
    I got one from HD for fathers day last year. Just installed it... easiest 15 min mod I've ever done, now with the flash of my headlight coming down the road from about 150 ft, I don't even have to slow down to wait for the door... I'd prolly never buy one myself, but since it was bought for me, wth...
    The HD one requires it's own module plugged into the garage opener itself... correct?
    ^^My $0.02 not yours^^
    -Chris
    aka Gas Man

    "Why pay somebody else to fuck up your bike?"
    "Custom don't bolt on!"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    3,140

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gas Man View Post
    The HD one requires it's own module plugged into the garage opener itself... correct?
    No, if I'm not mistaken it has a unit that you plug in in your garage, that unit transmits to the door opener, and the crap on your bike transmits to the unit.

    If someone buys it for you I guess its worth the $129, but mine cost me about $20 max, and I get to use my MacGyver skillz, LOL.

    http://www.harley-davidson.com/gma/gma_product.jsp?PRODUCT<>prd_id=845524442250285&FO LDER<>folder_id=2534374309436836&ASSORTMENT<>ast_i d=2534374309436836&CONTENT<>cnt_id=101341986747788 61&locale=en_US&bmUID=1333661309401&bmLocale=en_U S

    http://www.harley-davidson.com/en_US/Media/downloads/Service/isheets/-J02028.pdf

    Last edited by Kosher; 04-05-2012 at 06:31 PM.
    _________
    Roll away the dew...


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brownstown, MI
    Posts
    16,620

    Default

    Right... 2 pieces to make the HD units work. The unit you hook up to your garage opener then the pice you install on the bike.

    Yeah most of the door openers run on 12v anyway, I did it once and had it on my horn... but it actually drained too much power so horn wouldn't function... then it somehow fried the door opener... never tried again... LOL
    ^^My $0.02 not yours^^
    -Chris
    aka Gas Man

    "Why pay somebody else to fuck up your bike?"
    "Custom don't bolt on!"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fenwick
    Posts
    808

    Default

    Gas man, that's correct. You just wire it to the same terminals that your manually operated button hooks up to. Easy peasy.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fenwick
    Posts
    808

    Default

    Kosher, Yes. I would have went the cheap way, in fact, I will be on the Dog....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brownstown, MI
    Posts
    16,620

    Default

    Yeah that's what i thought. But like you said, it's a bunch of coin... I'll just keep the opener in my pocket.
    ^^My $0.02 not yours^^
    -Chris
    aka Gas Man

    "Why pay somebody else to fuck up your bike?"
    "Custom don't bolt on!"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    B-town Mich
    Posts
    901

    Default

    I'm gonna try a kick button in the fairing lowers right above the brake. then just wire it to the opener tucked behind the speaker in my lower. I bought a pretty hardy momentary button at a cycle swap meet a while back and I think it will deal with the abuse.
    Caveman

    Here's my 10, my 2 are free

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •