PDA

View Full Version : welding

ziek
11-02-2009, 01:01 PM
Where do I begin to start learning how to weld. I have a basic idea but never welded before. What's a good welder? Mig or tig? Etc.

Thanks guys

junkyardjon
11-02-2009, 07:39 PM
all i use is a mig

ziek
11-02-2009, 07:41 PM
What kind?

zamochit
11-02-2009, 08:26 PM
I use a Lincoln Mig, but hear the Tig is easier to use. I am a horrible welder, but a great grinder;).

ziek
11-02-2009, 10:34 PM
I heard a propane cutting torch is a good thing to have too.

zamochit
11-02-2009, 10:49 PM
I heard a propane cutting torch is a good thing to have too.

A torch is always good to have around, not sure about a propane one tho

ziek
11-02-2009, 10:54 PM
Oh really, what shoud should I get?

zamochit
11-02-2009, 11:53 PM
Oh really, what shoud should I get?

At the shop we use Acetylene.

Bob
11-03-2009, 08:02 AM
I'd go with a mig. It's what I learned on. Don't get some cheapo welder either, get a name brand. Although it might not hurt to start with a Harbor Freight welder just to learn some things.

Your best bet is to find someone that can show you a few things and then just practice, practice, practice. I have not welded in years but I used to be pretty good.

junkyardjon
11-03-2009, 06:48 PM
i have a hobart at home
at work i use miller and lincoln
there all a good choice. buy a welder that you can buy parts for down the road. that means name brand. scan craigslist.
i can't tig cause my hands can't take it for to long, start cramping BAD. a torch is handy for sure. if you buy used tank's watch out for outdated take's. anything over 10 years and there outdated, there all stamped on top by the valve.

i would be glad to help you anyway i can, just say the word.

ziek
11-04-2009, 11:26 PM
i would be glad to help you anyway i can, just say the word.