PDA

View Full Version : What was your very first memory/experience with a motorcycle?

telecast
10-09-2009, 09:21 AM
Hopefully you guys will come up with some interesting stuff. As I said in my introduction, I started riding a minibike at age 9. But my first experience with a motorcycle goes back farther.

My aunt and uncle lived next door to us. My uncle, a WWII vet from the European Theater had somehow come up with an Indian 841, a 45 CI (737cc) V-twin shaft-driven bike from the early 40's. Only 1000 were ever made. Both Indian and Harley made shaft-driven bikes that were supposed to be used for desert warfare in Africa. When the war was over they sold them off as surplus for cheap. I'm sure that's how my uncle got his.

I remember that bike like it was yesterday. Olive drab paint, it had a solo seat so he'd sit us in front of him, mostly on the gas tank. We'd hold onto the gas/oil caps on the tank and put our feet on the engine guards. Most of these rides were only a few short minutes, once in a while we'd get a 20 minute ride, but between me, my sister and my cousins he usually kept it to down the street and back. But that was enough for a 3 or 4 year old kid to get the bug.

This'll make you cry:
He was big with tinkering around in the garage. At some point he decided he wanted to build a dune buggy, the classic kind with the fiberglass body. He needed torches, so he traded the bike for a used acetylene setup. Jeez.

http://www.carpictures.com/media/images/640/07DJH481920738B.jpeg

RedneckMedic
10-09-2009, 09:45 AM