PDA

View Full Version : Tires



leebo
08-02-2016, 07:46 PM
I visited a dealer in warren today and got in a discussion about tires with their mechanic as they wholesale tires there.I told him that I wasnt happy with my metzelers because of the stress cracks,He said that the problem was I ran my tires underinflated at 31Lbs which is what my manual says is the recommended pressure and that I should be running closer to 40lbs?
So I asked him about the dunlop elites as mentioned in another thread he said the avons and continentals were better tires.
What do you guys think truth or BS?

detdrbuzzard
08-02-2016, 08:02 PM
the manual list tire pressure for the tires that came stock on the bike. I've been running Dunlop E3's on my 1500 wing since I got it back in '08 but which ever tire you decide to buy make sure it is load rated for your Harley when it is fully loaded

leebo
08-02-2016, 08:13 PM
I have a triumph with OEM tires running at the recommended psi per the manual and the sticker on the bike also.I was mainly surprised at the statemenr of running 10lbs over at 40lbs.Does anybody else do that?

Gas Man
08-02-2016, 08:56 PM
I always suggest running your tire at your vehicles suggested psi. NOT what the tire company says.

heck, think of it this way. With the new TPMS on cars, you have to inflate them at what the computer for Ford/GM/Dodge says; otherwise you'll have a tire light on.

leebo
08-02-2016, 09:10 PM
I always suggest running your tire at your vehicles suggested psi. NOT what the tire company says. heck, think of it this way. With the new TPMS on cars, you have to inflate them at what the computer for Ford/GM/Dodge says; otherwise you'll have a tire light on.Its funny you said that cause the guy picked out a tire for my bike that said 40 lbs on the tire not the recommended 31lbs.

Aggressor05
08-03-2016, 11:19 AM
I always suggest running your tire at your vehicles suggested psi. NOT what the tire company says.

heck, think of it this way. With the new TPMS on cars, you have to inflate them at what the computer for Ford/GM/Dodge says; otherwise you'll have a tire light on.

My bike has a tire light & tells pressure on infotainment screen. :) It won't be long till that feature is on all the bikes

Gas Man
08-03-2016, 07:40 PM
Its funny you said that cause the guy picked out a tire for my bike that said 40 lbs on the tire not the recommended 31lbs.

Funny thing is... the tire spec is usually max PSI. But that doesn't mean you have to run that. After all it's not like we are talking about the speed limit.


My bike has a tire light & tells pressure on infotainment screen. :) It won't be long till that feature is on all the bikes

True.

leebo
08-03-2016, 09:36 PM
Well i upped my psi to 35lbs today.went out for a little 50 mile ride seemed ok.

Bagger Dave
08-05-2016, 06:15 AM
I'm running the American Elite's and I keep the tires at factory recommended pressure 36 psi Front and 40 psi rear
I have over 3,000 miles on them now...love the ride!

leebo
08-05-2016, 06:19 AM
I'm running the American Elite's and I keep the tires at factory recommended pressure 36 psi Front and 40 psi rearI have over 3,000 miles on them now...love the ride!Tire factory or Harley?

Bagger Dave
08-05-2016, 10:31 PM
Tire factory or Harley?
Harley's recommended tire pressure

owl
08-05-2016, 10:38 PM
I run my American elites at 40psi. Front tire has 12000 miles and about 60% wear. Ride good and work well in the rain.

RedneckMedic
08-05-2016, 11:50 PM
Ive got the American elites as well and run at 36 and 40. I'm pretty sure that's what the tire and harley says.

leebo
08-06-2016, 07:00 AM
Not sure i can run mine in the 40lbs range as the bike weighs only 550lbs.I sent an email to triumph about my probs with the metzelers waiting on their response.

Dagnabit
08-08-2016, 06:41 PM
I ran Metzler 888's on my superglide. I remember the recommended pressure was higher than the stock dunlops I replaced. I wasn't super impressed with them. Ended up going back to Dunlop on the new bike.

leebo
08-23-2016, 03:32 PM
So I was at the dealership today and they confirmed I should be running in the 38-40 Lbs range.stupid manual...

Gas Man
08-23-2016, 07:01 PM
That don't sound right Lee.

Take a car for example... you can't run the PSI in a new car at a range that far our from the Ford/GM/Dodge programmed TPMSensors. The damn tire light would be on all the time.

The only tires I know that you run at what the side of the tire reads is trailer tires. That's it.

leebo
08-23-2016, 07:40 PM
Well i am going on my 3rd front tire.not because of tread depth.Right now im running @ 35lbs.on another note they install dynabeads all the time!

Gas Man
08-27-2016, 10:29 PM
Well dyne beads rock.

Let us know how you like the.

leebo
08-30-2016, 07:25 PM
So i aired up both tires to 37lbs today took it out for 50 miles it was different.not sure yet good or bad.