PDA

View Full Version : Now I'm just getting pissed......

telecast
08-06-2009, 07:35 AM
It's been 9 days since we could get in our driveway. They still haven't poured the driveway approach or sidewalk. After they do, it'll be another 6 days before we can drive on it.

This is bullshit. I do construction management for a living, and I don't mean houses. I do roads, bridges, water plants, sewer treatment, etc. Infrastructure. I know exactly what it takes to put this stuff in. The project is poorly coordinated. To add to this, the city no longer has a public works director, the whole thing is being handled by the building official, who knows almost nothing about this kind of work.

My company used to be the city's engineers until the new City Administrator came on board. They have a tendency to bring in engineer's they've worked with in the past. And, I used to be the city's Director of Public Works. Because of those two issue I have to tread lightly. Anything I say or do has to be in my capacity as a citizen.

It's frustrating.

Gas Man
08-06-2009, 07:49 AM
Not too mention its late in the season for driveways. It takes concrete a long time to fully cure. The salt this winter will be very hard on it.

telecast
08-06-2009, 08:03 AM
Nah. 70% strength in 7 days, full strength in 28. They should be using a 4000 PSI mix. Salt really doesn't affect concrete as long as it's properly closed. I can show you concrete roads that were put in in the 60's that show no visible signs of salt damage.

The problem comes when the finisher doesn't fully close it and leaves small voids. Salts melts the ice and snow, water gets in the voids, the temp goes down and freezes the water, which expands and pops the finish.

A lot of times you'll see concrete with a lot of the finish popped. In that case it's usually because they worked it too late and it was getting hot so the putty never fully bonds.

Gas Man
08-06-2009, 07:54 PM