PDA

View Full Version : Garmin plotting software??



Gas Man
06-29-2014, 01:28 AM
I have base camp and I hate it.

What are you guys running or heard that is good?

I just want something that works as similar to classic google maps as possible and allows me to manipulate the plotted route.

Klimoman
06-29-2014, 09:32 AM
I downloaded a app called inroute to my phone. It works OK, not great.

Gas Man
06-29-2014, 09:51 AM
Yeah I want the PC program that uploads to my motorcycle Garmin unit.

bombdog
06-30-2014, 10:07 AM
I hate basecamp Takes forever and is BS!!! IMHO

Gas Man
06-30-2014, 10:42 AM
I thought I hated Map Source, but basecamp is worse!

sfcusaret2004
06-30-2014, 11:43 AM
have you tried the HD ride planner? Just log onto the coroprate site and mouse over to the the owners tab on the top. Click there and then click on the ride planner tab. It's pretty intuitave and supposedly downloads the route you select directly to any registered Garmin unit. I used it for the trip to DC and back over memorial day but didn't have a garmin. Just printed out the directions and used a kneeboard for the pages.

Gas Man
06-30-2014, 11:53 AM
I have seen that before but haven't tried it in that fashion. Maybe I will try that...

I just wish there was a better software.

RedneckMedic
06-30-2014, 01:33 PM
I wish apple had a route planner that I could drag and change routes since I use my apple map app for everything. I did have the garmin app on the phone at one point but apple works better.

Gas Man
06-30-2014, 03:01 PM
Right... and I want one that allows for dragging the route and then downloading it to my garmin unit.

bombdog
06-30-2014, 03:24 PM
I want mine to stop giving me so much attitude when she has to "recalculate" Like I am putting her out its her job Damit......

Tazman
07-27-2014, 02:22 PM
I have base camp and I hate it.

What are you guys running or heard that is good?

I just want something that works as similar to classic google maps as possible and allows me to manipulate the plotted route.


I use a Garmin on my Wing other than the in-dash unit. It is a 2595LM but I use a program called Tyre to develop my routes and then the can be quickly saved to the Garmin through the application.

They have a free edition that bworks really well you can upgrade if desired. The app is developed in The Netherlands but is available in all languages and I have really enjoyed it. It has many options, one of which is the "Avoid" option. I have mine set to avoid highways, toll roads and unpaved roads.

It also works with Tom Tom.

http://www.tyretotravel.com/ (http://www.tyretotravel.com/)

Kosher
07-27-2014, 04:40 PM
I use a Garmin on my Wing other than the in-dash unit. It is a 2595LM but I use a program called Tyre to develop my routes and then the can be quickly saved to the Garmin through the application.

They have a free edition that bworks really well you can upgrade if desired. The app is developed in The Netherlands but is available in all languages and I have really enjoyed it. It has many options, one of which is the "Avoid" option. I have mine set to avoid highways, toll roads and unpaved roads.

It also works with Tom Tom.

http://www.tyretotravel.com/ (http://www.tyretotravel.com/)


I like and use Tyre, but is there a MAC version?

Gas Man
07-27-2014, 11:44 PM
I like and use Tyre, but is there a MAC version?
The answer is no..
http://www.tyretotravel.com/help/#qa8

Kosher
07-29-2014, 08:23 AM
The answer is no..
http://www.tyretotravel.com/help/#qa8

Well, ya make yer bed, ya gotta sleep in it. :-P

Gas Man
07-29-2014, 08:50 AM
Yeah I know... every once and a while I find something that wants to play hard ball.