PDA

View Full Version : Satellite radio



owl
01-26-2014, 12:07 PM
Has anyone added a satellite radio to their Harley? I wouldlike something the same as or similar to Harley’s Boom audio XM package,without the outrages cost. I don’t care for stuff hanging from or standing on my handle bars. Controlling everything from the hand controls is ideal.
Jim

Moesride
01-26-2014, 06:08 PM
Interested in this as well.

Gas Man
01-26-2014, 08:48 PM
You could get a garmin with it built in.

Bagger Dave
01-26-2014, 09:03 PM
I would be interested in that...I have Sirius XM Radio in my truck, and love it!...would be nice to listen to "Octane" on the bike:rockwoot:

sprink
01-26-2014, 09:42 PM
You could get a garmin with it built in.

Umm, he mentioned the "outrages cost" thing...

Caveman
01-26-2014, 10:44 PM
You would have to get something that plugs directly into the Harley head unit to be able to control from the hand controls. There-in lies the cost. The only other cheap method would be to use your phone, and an audio cable and use internet radio otherwise you will have to use an external control of some sort.

If you are willing to use external (handlebar mounted) controls my neighbor Tom had a sirius unit installed in his fairing and had it set on old fart music all the time and never changed the station. played some 40's, 50's channel all the time. But you could install the unit under the fairing and wire in a control to a handle bar. This option would of course occupy your AUX jack on the stock head unit.

owl
01-27-2014, 01:28 PM
It looks as though, I may have to give in to the outragescost option. Anything else and I end up with handlebar mount or little to no control.Now I will check with my local retailer and determine the amount of pain I canhope to experience.
Thanks for the reply’s
Jim

Gas Man
01-27-2014, 08:53 PM
The true problem with many of the other options is the hand control desire. To do that correctly, I would suggest an ipod controller like I put on my bike from Iron Cross Audio (http://www.ironcrossaudio.com/).

Or go the aftermarket radio option like Kosher.

owl
02-12-2014, 07:30 PM
Broke down and purchased the boom audio XM receiver. Plus antenna mount and utlra wiring harness. Now I'm broke, can't even pay attention. I will take pictures when I do the install.

Jim

Gas Man
02-12-2014, 10:35 PM
"Now I'm broke, can't even pay attention."

:rofl:

Bagger Dave
02-12-2014, 11:03 PM
Looking forward to seeing the install Jim!:rockwoot:

bombdog
02-13-2014, 11:11 AM
nice I almost did that last year it should be an easy install

RedneckMedic
02-14-2014, 04:20 PM
Hey. Pandora cost like 3 bucks a month commercial free. Thats where I'm at.

Kosher
02-14-2014, 05:27 PM
Hey. Pandora cost like 3 bucks a month commercial free. Thats where I'm at.

also buys you better bit rate.

Personally I think XM/Sirius sound quality SUCKS DONKEY BALLS, *waaayyyyy* too much compression. Sounds like its coming from the bottom of a coffee can.

Gas Man
02-15-2014, 12:22 AM
Hey. Pandora cost like 3 bucks a month commercial free. Thats where I'm at.


me too

Moesride
02-15-2014, 03:51 PM
Pandora as well....I'm still listening to commercials though.

owl
03-15-2014, 10:52 PM
You asked for it, SO here we go. Pictures from the XM radio install.
http://i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm225/owl1289/IMG_20140310_152510_539.jpg


In this pic, we see a module mounted on top of the radio(right side as viewed) that is for CB. The XM module will mount next to the CB module.
http://i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm225/owl1289/IMG_20140315_130429_190.jpg
http://i297.photobucket.com/albums/mm225/owl1289/IMG_20140315_130404_495.jpg







At the end of today’s labors, the painted fairing is properly fastened to the bike and instrument cluster too. I seem to have two wire connectors from the factory harness with nothing to attach to and one connector from the XM harness that has no known destination. I think I’ll solve those dilemma is week.
Jim

Klimoman
03-15-2014, 11:03 PM
I had a couple of unused wires as well Owl when I took my fairing off. I used one wire that is used for international models only to wire my heated hand grips.

owl
03-15-2014, 11:27 PM
Thanks Klimoman
I didn’t spend much time looking as it was late I was tiredand hungry. I think one is heated grips and one maybe ignition switch. The shinyfairing is a sight to behold and took my mind off the wire problems.
I don’t foresee major issues

Moesride
12-15-2014, 10:05 PM
I broke down today Jim and bought the same boom Sirius/XM setup. Should have it to my door by Thursday. Looking forward to install but I came down with the damn flu so install may have to wait till I'm better. If I have any install issues maybe ill get a hold of you if your good with that.

owl
12-16-2014, 11:24 AM
Moe I'm good with that
I sent you a PM

Fastfem24
12-16-2014, 01:46 PM
Oh yeah!!

BigDogMS
12-16-2014, 10:55 PM
No room on my dog for something like this nonsense! Never mind the fact I would never hear it.....lol

glacieredlightning
05-05-2015, 09:59 AM
I got the XM module a cpl weeks ago. On the 2015, the folks at HD need to reflash the headunit to make the two of them play nice. So if you buy and install the module yourself on the 2015 and it doesn't seem to want to play with the stock headunit ...

Gas Man
05-05-2015, 11:52 PM
Yeah I heard lots of reflash needs with the 14/15 stereos...