PDA

View Full Version : Motorcycle shop to fix/possibly modify tank and a shop to copper plate

apex factor
02-19-2013, 02:28 PM
Hi all,

haven't been on here in a little while but I haven't forgot about the site!

I'm looking for a shop that can fix a dent on my tank and possibly modify it too. Mainly looking for a shop to fix the dent and possibly paint it. I was told to check out Detroit Choppers but I have no experience with them. I'm looking for suggestions around metro-detroit, near rochester or clinton township would be even better!

Also, anyone know of any shops around metro detroit thatdoes copper plating or coating for motorcycle gas tanks?

I contacted selfridge plating and electroplating and both of them say they can't or won't do it.

Thanks in advanced for your advice!

-Matt

Gas Man
02-19-2013, 02:38 PM
DO NOT

I repeat DO NOT use detroit choppers. They don't even own a paint booth.

ABI a member here could paint it.

I don't know of any good copper plating places... the issue is that it is a gas tank.

You could powder it...

apex factor
02-19-2013, 02:54 PM
DO NOT

I repeat DO NOT use detroit choppers. They don't even own a paint booth.

ABI a member here could paint it.

I don't know of any good copper plating places... the issue is that it is a gas tank.

You could powder it...

Thanks for the heads up!

Anyone ever deal with Fab Kevin?

Yeah I thought about getting it powder coated using one of those translucent powders. I just want it to be somewhat similar to the custom copper fender I got.

Gas Man
02-19-2013, 03:10 PM
Fab kevin is awesome but I didn't know he did coating or painting.

apex factor
02-19-2013, 04:27 PM
Fab kevin is awesome but I didn't know he did coating or painting.

I'll be using someone else to paint or powder.

Gas Man
02-19-2013, 04:58 PM
I saw one of their big jobs and I threw up in my mouth.

Gas Man
02-19-2013, 04:59 PM
Here
http://www.twowheelmichigan.com/showthread.php?4641-Detroit-Choppers-26-quot-Street-Glide