PDA

View Full Version : Harley Blow Job?



Gas Man
07-19-2012, 10:40 PM
My father in law has been having a problem with his (new to him) 76 shovel. Drive down the road and the bike will just die... he blows in the gas tank and it will come back to life.

He had a K&N type fuel filter installed on his fuel line... thought maybe that was it. I told him to remove it and try... here's his report.


STILL THE SAME OLD THING, TOOK THE FILTER OUT,STILL STALLING WHEN HOT,RELOACTED THE FUEL LINE FROM BETWEEN THE JUGS,WORKED FOR A DAY, STALLED ONCE ON THE WAY HOME,GAVE THE FUEL TANK A BLOW JOB AND THE FILTER HOUSING FILLED RIGHT UP, TOOK THE CARB OFF, THE BOWL LOOKED GOOD,THE FLOAT AND NEEDLE WEREN'T STICKING,TOOK THE SCREEN OFF THE FUEL SHUT OFF,CHECKED THE OPERATION OF IT,WORKING OK. I DID PUT SOME PLASTIC LOOM COVER OVER THE FUEL LINE,MAYBE I SHOULD TRY SOME HEAT WRAP?. CHECK WITH YOUR ONLINE FREINDS,SEE IF THEY HAVE RUN INTO THIS. DOES "H D "STAND FOR HARDLY RUNNING, HA HA

What do you guys think? Any suggestion?

Nobody
07-19-2012, 11:29 PM
gas cap. have him soak it with wd-40 for an hour and work the rubber sealback and forth if he can. if he's got the two cap style he'll want to do this to the one on right which is the vented one. the bushing/gasket in the cap is sticking and air locking.

Gas Man
07-20-2012, 12:02 AM
Thanks dustin... will pass it along.

Mad Dog
07-20-2012, 08:02 AM
If not the cap I would look for a restriction in the tank outlet or the delivery line leading to the filter.

Gas Man
07-20-2012, 09:15 AM
Those are fresh lines. I installed them myself when I was up north at dads.

detdrbuzzard
07-20-2012, 09:46 AM
gas cap vent plugged

junkyardjon
07-20-2012, 07:41 PM
or it might have a tank vent tube plugged, real common.
it depend's on the style of tank he has.

edit... other than this problem, does it run good? no other carb related issue's?

Gas Man
07-21-2012, 02:57 AM
I think it runs good. He bought it at an estate sale and we just got it back to road worthy. So we have no miles to speak of for condition. These are the virgin miles for dad.

Hawgrider
07-24-2012, 10:53 AM
Just a thought....... Vapor lock as already mentioned.

Another thought- Dont know why they would but did someone put a newer petcock on it that is now vacuum operated? If they did the diaphram may be stretched just enough to not produce enough flow at cruise speeds.

Gas Man
07-24-2012, 04:55 PM
Good call Hawg. But there was a normal non-vacuum petcock.

He did find that the R cap was on the L tank and vise versa. So he was cleaning them, putting them on proper, and going to re-test. Hopefully he'll tell me in the next few days.