PDA

View Full Version : Site issue with malicious site blocked from security software



fatmanracing
02-10-2012, 08:22 PM
Everytime I visit this site I am getting an IP blocked message: 123.252.193.141

I assume its a link on the main forum page to some other website, just thought I would mention it.

Gas Man
02-11-2012, 12:34 AM
I don't nor have I ever seen that.

I think you have a virus according to what google says about that IP address.

Mad Dog
02-11-2012, 01:17 PM
Yup, looks like it originates from:Location: India,

Mumbai

fatmanracing
02-11-2012, 11:09 PM
My PC gets scanned frequently... I've not had any viruses...

Gas Man
02-11-2012, 11:20 PM
Has anybody else seen this????

Kosher
02-12-2012, 07:00 AM
Everytime I visit this site I am getting an IP blocked message: 123.252.193.141

I assume its a link on the main forum page to some other website, just thought I would mention it.

Very often web hosters try to detect where denial of service attacks might be coming from based on measuring some level of activity that emanates from an IP address that they see frequently.

Are you using one of the personal VPN services?

The other possibility, and I think more likely is that your machine has malware on it that communicates with a bot net of some sort and the hoster of this site has identified that communication path.

Time to flatten that computer you're using and start again.

Gas Man
02-12-2012, 09:46 AM
I agree that it's a malware. Download a malware detector/cleaner. I use to use adware program.

fatmanracing
02-12-2012, 11:58 AM
Its interesting, because, part of my job is IT, I do usually use the corporate antivirus we use at work, Vipre, but I have been doing some Win7 trial work, and other software trials on this laptop... I'll let you know if I find anything with the scans, I'm going to try another AV program today.

It may just be a false alarm, as the malware detection program I am using sometimes finds things it thinks are a virus, when they are really not at all..

Kosher
02-12-2012, 12:04 PM
Its interesting, because, part of my job is IT, I do usually use the corporate antivirus we use at work, Vipre, but I have been doing some Win7 trial work, and other software trials on this laptop... I'll let you know if I find anything with the scans, I'm going to try another AV program today.

It may just be a false alarm, as the malware detection program I am using sometimes finds things it thinks are a virus, when they are really not at all..

If the machine has been rooted, it likely wont be detected by virus protection software, root kits can get on the machine without detection. Usually by social engineering/trojans, so the user likely volunteered for this.

fatmanracing
02-12-2012, 01:10 PM
Only thing I found was a suspicious activity from a keygen program I used, so thats cleaned up, no errors when accessing the site so far...

Anyhow, all is good.

Gas Man
02-12-2012, 01:23 PM
So removing that fixed this issue?

fatmanracing
02-12-2012, 04:26 PM
Yep, so far so good.

Gas Man
02-12-2012, 08:25 PM
Sweet!!!