PDA

View Full Version : Sportbike Rider's take on a HD Fat Boy

Gas Man
12-07-2008, 01:34 AM
Another little something I put together from my archieves

CLICK for article (http://"http://www.motorbikestoday.com/reviews/Articles/harley_fat_boy.htm")

A good article from a Euro sportbike mag that I found on a sportbike forum. Which got me to thinking about my trasition from sportbike to the chop and my rides on other cruisers as of late.* So I posted a reply on that sportbike forum that I added in below...

Well as a former sportbike rider that has tried it all from knee draggin, stunting, and streetfighting.* I started riding different bikes on demo days and started to open my eyes to how much fun a bike can be even if it can't do 0-100mph in first gear.

For me it was that open mind and my safety concoius, coupled with age (I'm sure) that got the best of me.* * Then I realized, I'm never going to slow down on my sportbike (9R).* Going down in size would just mean I would ring the motors neck more and in the end do the same crap.* Its the high revving motor, seating position, bike's stance, and overall ease and expectance to go fast and do crazy!

Now I was faced with the decision of what to get.* What do I want?* What can I afford?* I had rode dual sports, BMWs, Buells, Victory, HD, Big Dog, chopper shops, titan, ect...* Went to all the above including the jap counter parts.* Even walked into a few HD dealers and said "show me your most expensive bike with the largest back tire you have.* Maybe I watched one too many episodes of American Chopper or Biker Build Off.* But I foundmyself realizing I have always loved the choppers and had previously wished to have botha a sportbike and a chopper.*

Went to a dealer that carried Big dog, American Iron Horse, Bourget, Swift, OCC, and a few others.* Nothing held a candle to the Big dogs.* Figured out how to afford it and made the plunge.