PDA

View Full Version : Commuting in Rush Hour

zenith931
05-19-2011, 12:46 PM
Hi all,

I'm new here. I ride a 2008 Honda CBR600rr. I've been riding for about 2 years now.

I just have a quick question for those of you familiar with the area of Orchard Lake and the 696/I-96 interchange. I would like to ride my motorcycle to work and that is the route I would currently be on (I-96 > 696 > Orchard Lake). Seeing the type of drivers in my car during the morning and afternoon rush hour makes me a little nervous (they're all preoccupied, don't look, aggressive, etc.).

Would you ride in rush hour traffic almost daily on that route?

I'd like your opinions. Thanks!!

Mudpuppy
05-19-2011, 01:19 PM
welcome to the forum.. i used to ride in rush hour but not when i was a new(er) rider.. i wouldn't recommend it and that is not much of a ride anyways..

zenith931
05-19-2011, 03:31 PM
welcome to the forum.. i used to ride in rush hour but not when i was a new(er) rider.. i wouldn't recommend it and that is not much of a ride anyways..

Hi! Thanks for the welcome. I enjoy riding and like to do it whenever I can -- even if it is to commute. Besides, you can't argue that it does save on gas! Which is another big argument TO riding. I am just wary to if the environment of rush hour is too tenuous.

Mudpuppy
05-19-2011, 03:41 PM
gas savings are marginal. i'd bet i could drive a 4wd expedition in 4wd year around same distance as you and you would save a nominal amount of money over the course of a year.. around $600.. big deal.. i blow that much on a friday night with gasman at the hustler club.. that's a whopping $11 a week.. wow.. the whole fuel economy thing is way overblown..