PDA

View Full Version : Michigan MSF Class

wormdjd
04-18-2011, 04:35 PM
The wife and I took the MSF class at Schoolcraft in Garden City this weekend and I just thought I'd reflect on some of the things I learned:

Riding on two wheels, even in crap weather in a parking lot beats working. When the funds allow I may investigate some cold weather gear to allow a longer riding season.
The class is definitely worth taking. I'd developed some pretty bad habits since I started riding in 2000 and apparently bad habits are harder to break than learning new ones; my wife, who had never been on a motorcycle before only got one point deducted from the road test which was way better than me. Even though I'll never live it down (she posted it to all our friends on Facebook) I was kind of proud and it relieved some of the fear I had about putting her on two wheels.
Smaller bikes can be fun. I'm thinking of adding a couple of cheap sub-250's to the stable to putter around town and to take up north. I won't be replacing the Harley but they're easier to get out and ride around.

Just thought I'd start a new thread since there haven't been many lately. Definitely had some fun this weekend and would recommend the class to anyone either new to riding or as a refresher for those who've been away. Also thanks to Abate for subsidizing the class so we could afford to take it.

Thruxtonbill
04-18-2011, 05:01 PM
Good on ya for taking it with the wife, and props for admitting you had some bad habits. You're right, small bikes are alot of fun.
BTW, thanks for starting a new thread, for awhile I thought I was on a gun forum.:)

Gas Man
04-18-2011, 10:04 PM
I agree with Bill.

And when my wife took her class a few years ago, I took it with her as moral support. She rode under my lessons for a year before taking it. And per the msf instructor I taught her perfectly. The instructor even used me as the demonstrator the entire weekend.